Board of Directors & Sponsors

2019 NEQS Regular Meeting Notice, Atlanta, GA (PDF)

View/download Sponsorship Letter
View/download Sponsorship Form

Officers 2018 thru 2019

Michael Darre, PhD, Director (2020)
Dept. of Animal Science, University of CT
George White Building
3636 Horse Barn Road Ext
Storrs, CT 06269-4040
Telephone: (860) 486-1008

Tony Herrera, Assistant Director (2020)
California Dept of Food & Ag
1220 “N” Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 900-5060
Fax: (916) 900-5359

E. L. Knicely, Secretary (2020)
Virginia Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Division of Marketing & Dev.
102 Governor St.
Richmond, VA 23219
Telephone: (804) 786-0480
Fax: (804) 225-4434

Cary Wise, Utah Dept. of Ag and Food, NEQS Coordinator (2021)
Egg and Poultry Program Manager
350 N Redwood Rd, PO Box 146500
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500
Telephone: (801) 783-6747

Diana Sparks, Treasurer (2019)
CCF Brands
5211 Village Parkway, Ste 101
Rogers, AR 72750-5105
Telephone: (479) 464-0544
Fax: (479) 254-8532



Darrin M. Karcher, PhD, (2019)
Assistant Professor, Extension Poultry Scientist
Purdue University
915 W. State St./ANSC-LILLY
W. Lafayette, IN 47907-2054
Telephone: (765) 494-4845

Kenneth Anderson, PhD (2021)
Poultry Science Dept,
North Carolina State Univ
Scott Hall, Room 237, Box 7608
Raleigh, NC 27695-7608
Telephone: (919) 515-5527
Fax: (919) 515-7070

Nichole Martz (2020)
Pennsylvania Dept. of Agriculture
Suite G5
2301 North Cameron St.
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Telephone: (717) 346-3223

Paul Patterson PhD (2019)
Penn State University
Dept. of Poultry Science
213 Henning Bldg
University Park, PA 16802
Telephone: (814) 865-3414
Fax: (814) 865-5691

Jamie Guffey (2019)
Kentucky Poultry Federation
PO Box 71
Hardinsburg, KY  40143

Rafael Rivera (2021)
U.S. Poultry & Egg Association
Manager, Food Safety & Production Programs
1530 Cooledge Road
Tucker, GA 30084-7303
Telephone: (770) 493-9401
Fax: (770) 493-9257

Deana R. Jones, PhD, (2021)
United States Department of Agriculture
Agricultural Research Service
Egg Safety and Quality Research Unit
Russell Research Center, PO Box 5677
Athens, GA 30605-5677
Telephone: (706) 546-3486
Fax: (706) 546-3035

Cheri Ellis (2021)
Arkansas Department of Agriculture
#1 Natural Resources Drive
PO Box 8505
Little Rock, AR 72215-8505
Telephone: (501) 823-1745
Fax: (501) 907-2234

Yuko Sato, DVM (2021)
Assistant Professor
2430 Lloyd Vet Med
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011
Telephone: 515.294.0710

Deanna Baldwin (2021)
Maryland Department of Agriculture
Food Quality Assurance Program
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401
Telephone: (410) 841-5769
Fax: (410) 841-2750

Oscar Garrison (2020)
Director of Food Safety
United Egg Producers
1720 Windward concourse Ste 230
Alpharetta GA 30005
Telephone: (770) 360-9220
Fax: (770) 360-7058

Richard Hoyle, (2019)
North Carolina Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services
PO Box 27686-7576
Raleigh, NC 27611
Telephone: (919) 733-7576
Fax: (919) 733-9724

Christine Alvarado, Ph.D (2020)
Texas A&M
Poultry Processing & Products Dept. of Poultry Science
101 Kleberg Center, 2472 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-2472
Telephone: (979)845-4818
Fax: (979)845-1921

Myra Wilson (2019)
South Carolina Dept. of Agriculture
Poultry Division
PO Box 11280
Columbia, SC 29211-1280
Telephone: (803) 737-4835
Fax: (803) 737-4829

Ron Swafford (2021)
Rose Acre Farms
P.O. Box 1250
Seymour, IN 47274
Telephone: (812) 497-2557
Fax: (812) 497-3115


Lifetime Honorary Board Members

Joe Beck, retired USDA

Dave Reeseman, retired UEP

Jewell Hutto, former Georgia Egg Association Director

Danny Hughes, retired Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission

The National Egg Quality School gratefully acknowledges the support provided by the following organizations:
American Egg Board
Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission
CCF Brands
California Department of Food and Agriculture
Egg Nutrition Center
Indiana State Egg Board
Iowa State University
Maryland Department of Agriculture
North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
North Carolina State University 
Penn State University
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
Purdue University
Rose Acres Farms
South Carolina Department of Agriculture
Texas A&M
United Egg Producers
Utah Department of Agriculture & Food
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service 
University of Connecticut
Kentucky Poultry Federation
Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

A special thank you to Penny Short of California Department of Food & Agriculture/ESQM for processing the student registrations.


The National Egg Quality School gratefully acknowledges the following Donors for their generous support of the school in 2018:

U.S. Poultry & Egg Association

Rose Acre Farms

Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission
Cal-Maine Foods
Center Fresh Group
Midwest Poultry Services, L.P.
Opal Foods LLC
Prairie Star Farms

CCF Brands - Great Day Foods
Creighton Brothers LLC
Eggland's Best
Hickman's Family Farms
Highland Packaging Solutions, Inc.
Hidden Villa Ranch/Nest Fresh Eggs
Kuhl Corporation
ORKA Food Technology Ltd.
Quality Technology International (QTI)

Coast Packaging Co.
Colorado Egg Producers
Country Charm Eggs, LLC
DeLaval Cleaning Solutions
Dolco Packaging
Fassio Egg Farms, Inc.
Ise America, Inc. / Ise Newberry, Inc.
Lathem Family Farms
Marketing Concepts Group
Morning Fresh Farms
North American Stainless Systems
Potters Poultry, Inc.

American Egg Board

A special thank you to ROSE ACRE FARMS for donating the eggs and HARTMANN NORTH AMERICA for cartons used in the Laboratories.